25 C
Friday, April 23, 2021
Home India News BJP To Finalise Candidates For First Two Phases Of Bengal Polls Today

BJP To Finalise Candidates For First Two Phases Of Bengal Polls Today

Bengal: Dilip Ghosh’s title is doing the rounds for the Kharagpur Sadar seat which he had received in 2016.


West Bengal BJP president Dilip Ghosh on Wednesday mentioned that the get together’s state unit has shortlisted on a mean of 4-5 names per seat for the preliminary two phases of polling within the state and the listing of
candidates for these phases will probably be finalised on March 4.

The get together’s Central Election Committee (CEC) that makes the choice of who will contest from which constituency will meet in New Delhi todat to finalise the candidates listing for 60 seats.

Polling will probably be held in 30 seats every on March 27 and April 1. One of many constituencies going to polls within the second section is Nandigram from the place Trinamool Congress supremo and Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is scheduled to contest.

“We now have obtained 120-140 names from our district items for the primary two phases. Along with that, there are tons of of different names. We had 20-25 names for every seat and from that, we now have shortlisted round 4-5 names per seat. There will probably be some extra omission and after that, it’s for the get together management to resolve,” Mr Ghosh mentioned.

“This displays that folks from varied walks of life are very keen to hitch us,” he advised reporters.

Elections in Bengal, poised to be a tricky contest between the TMC and the BJP, will probably be held in eight phases between March 27 and April 29. Votes will probably be counted on Could 2.

In response to state BJP sources, the get together has determined to area many younger faces and professionals throughout its latest two-day core committee assembly.

Aside from the 19 TMC MLAs, together with former ministers Rajib Banerjee and Suvendu Adhikari who’re most certainly to get tickets from their outdated constituencies, the BJP can also be anticipated to appoint a number of personalities from the Bengali movie trade.

Mr Ghosh’s title can also be doing the rounds for the Kharagpur Sadar seat which he had received in 2016 earlier than resigning in 2019 after getting elected to the Lok Sabha, and Gopiballupur seat, the sources mentioned.

The BJP later misplaced the Kharagpur Sadar seat to the TMC throughout a by ballot.

The get together, nonetheless, is in two minds on whether or not to area Mr Adhikari from the Nandigram seat or not. He was the MLA of this seat earlier than resigning and becoming a member of the BJP in December final yr.

After having a restricted presence within the politically polarised state for many years, the BJP has emerged because the ruling TMCs most important rival by profitable 18 of the 42 Lok Sabha seats in West Bengal within the 2019 basic elections.

With the BJP’s energy rising within the state in the previous couple of years, its leaders are upbeat that the get together will finish Mamata Banerjee’s 10-year rule within the meeting polls.

Most Popular

Ola Plans to Build World’s Largest Scooter-Charging Network in India

Ola Electrical Mobility plans to construct a nationwide charging community for the electrical scooters set to start out rolling out from its large Bengaluru...

WhatsApp’s woes

WhatsApp will face an investigation into whether or not its plan to share customers' metadata with Fb is an abuse of its dominant...

“2 Slaps”: Union Minister Prahlad Patel’s Shocker To Man Seeking Oxygen

<!-- -->Union Minister Prahlad Patel stands earlier than man as he complains outdoors a hospital in Madhya Pradesh.New Delhi: Union Minister Prahlad Patel...

Emirates To Stop Flights Between Dubai And India For 10 Days From Sunday

<!-- -->Coronavirus: Emirates will cease flights between Delhi and Dubai amid the COVID-19 surgeNew Delhi: Emirates will droop flights between Dubai and India...

Recent Comments